1What is the New Mexico Medical Cannabis Program?
The New Mexico Cannabis Program is administered and regulated by the New Mexico Department of Health. The Medical Cannabis Program was created under the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act. The purpose of this Act is to allow the beneficial use of medical cannabis in for alleviating symptoms caused by debilitating medical conditions and their medical treatments.
2What is a qualified patient?
A qualified patient is someone who has been diagnosed by a certifying practitioner as having a debilitating medical condition and has received a medical cannabis card.
3What is a qualified certifying practitioner?
A certifying practitioner is a medical provider who is able to prescribe controlled substances and has an active and current license to practice in the state of New Mexico. Examples of medical providers include nurse practitioners, doctors and psychiatrists.
4When will I receive my card?
The medical cannabis program may take up to 30 days from the date that a complete application is received to issue a card. An additional 5 business days are allowed for mailing of your card.
5What if I don’t receive my card in 35 days?
If you don’t receive your card within the 35-day processing period, please call the New Mexico medical cannabis program at 505-827-2321
6How long is my card valid for?
Medical cannabis cards must be renewed every year. We recommend that applications be submitted 45 to 60 days before the expiration date. This helps to ensure that you receive your card by the expiration date. You will not be able to purchase cannabis if your card has expired.
7What if my card is lost or stolen?
You submit an Information Change or Replacement form to the NM Medical Cannabis Program. There is no longer a fee to replace your patient or caregiver card. If you need to replace a personal production license, the fee is $50
8How much cannabis can I possess?
A qualified patient and a qualified patient’s primary caregiver may possess within any three-month period a quantity of usable cannabis no greater than 230 total units. This is equal to 230 grams, or approximately eight ounces, of dried usable cannabis plant material. If you need more units, we can help you request more.
9What is a personal production license (PPL)?
A personal production license is also known as a grower’s card. It is a license issued to a qualified medical cannabis patient that allows the patient to grow medical cannabis for personal use. There is a $30 fee that is payable to the NM Department of Health. The fee may be waived if the income of the qualified patient is equal to or lesser than two hundred percent (200%) of the federal poverty guidelines. You must meet residency requirements. This may include a utility bill, lease, or letter from your landlord giving you permission to grow.
10Is there a limit on how much medical cannabis I can grow?
A patient who possesses a personal production license may possess no more than 4 mature female plants and a combined total of 12 seedlings and male plants.
11What is a caregiver license?
A caregiver license allows someone other than the patient to take responsibility for the management of medical cannabis to a qualified patient including assistance with purchasing and administering medical cannabis. The caregiver of a patient who holds a personal production license can also assist with growing medical cannabis at the location listed on the personal production license. A caregiver can manage up to four qualified patients.
12What is needed to become a caregiver?
1. Caregiver’s NM driver’s license or ID 2. The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older 3. A complete caregiver application to include patient, caregiver and certifying medical provider’s signature 4. Caregiver must submit a completed state and nation-wide background check. This must be done within six months of the application date.
13Can I get a card if I am under 18 years of age?
Please call us at 505-990-3978 so we can answer your specific questions about certification of a minor.