Medical Cannabis Program of New Mexico
The Medical Cannabis Program of New Mexico is a self-supported state program created in 2007 under the “Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act.”
The medical cannabis program of New Mexico was created to help patients legally use medical cannabis as a treatment solution for symptoms caused by debilitating medical conditions.
The medical cannabis program of New Mexico allows residents with qualifying medical conditions to register a medical cannabis card with the NM Department of Health.
First time patients must provide medical records during their initial registration. Each year patients are required to renew their medical marijuana card to continue to obtain the medical cannabis from any licensed dispensary within New Mexico.
As a patient you are allowed to purchase 230 units of cannabis products within a 3-month period.
Moving to New Mexico?
If you will be moving soon to New Mexico and would like to apply for a medical marijuana license here’s what you need to know before you apply.
First, you must have proof of residency in the form of a Permanent New Mexico Driver’s License or Identification Card. more information about New Mexico Real ID. *This is a requirement.
Second, you must provide proof of a qualifying medical condition by providing medical records.
To learn more about qualifying medical conditions for the New Mexico Medical Cannabis Program click here
Price of Medical Cannabis in New Mexico
The price of medical cannabis in New Mexico may vary based on the availability of dispensaries in your area. Medical cannabis can cost as low as $9 and as high as $15 per gram.
An option to offset the high cost of medical cannabis is to apply for a Personal Production License which allows you to grow your own medical cannabis for personal use.
More info about Personal Production License
46,645 medical cannabis patients as of December 2017
48,821 medical cannabis patients as of February 2018
Approved Medical Conditions
Chronic Pain, PTSD, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease) Anorexia,
Cachexia, Arthritis, Cancer, Spinal cord damage, Cervical Dystonia Crohn’s disease, Epilepsy, Glaucoma, Hepatitis C, HIV/AIDS, Ulcerative Colitis Hospice patients, Huntington’s disease, Intractable nausea/vomiting Multiple sclerosis, Painful peripheral neuropathy, Parkinson’s disease
If you have any of the above medical conditions you may qualify to get a medical cannabis card.
Patients can designate a caregiver to help them obtain their medical cannabis.
A primary caregiver is designated by patient’s practitioner as necessary to take responsibility for managing the well-being of a qualified patient with respect to the medical use of cannabis. Caregivers will need to provide proof of residency in the form of a NM driver’s license or ID. To be a caregiver you must be 18 years of age or older. Caregiver must submit a national background check.
Your Rights as a Medical Cannabis Patient
As a good precautionary measure, you should always have your medical cannabis card in your possession at all times. You will need to present your card to be allowed inside any medical marijuana dispensary.
You are allowed to possess 230 grams (8.11 ounces) of medical marijuana within a 3 month period.
If you get pulled over by New Mexico law enforcement and you are not in possession of your medical cannabis card, you must be given an opportunity to produce the card before any arrest or
criminal charges or other penalties are initiated. NMSA 1978, § 26-2B-4(D).
The NM Medical Cannabis Program operates a law enforcement line 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to answer questions from law enforcement. The number is 505-231-6740.
Protections from Criminal and Civil Penalties
An enrolled patient or caregiver shall be protected from arrest, prosecution, or penalties for the use or possession of medical cannabis as long as the amount of cannabis does not exceed what’s specified on your medical cannabis card. The amount allowed is 230 grams in New Mexico over a 90 day period.
Restrictions and Limitations
1. You are liable for damages and/or criminal prosecution if you are under the influence of cannabis while driving a vehicle.
2. You cannot possess or use cannabis in a school bus or public vehicle
3. You cannot posesss or use cannabis on or near school grounds
4. You cannot possess or use cannabis in any workplace setting
5. You cannot possess or use cannabis in any public place such as parks, recreational centers or youth centers
Traveling with Medical Cannabis outside of New Mexico
Although it is legal to possess medical marijuana in New Mexico if you are a patient in the New Mexico Medical Cannabis Program, it is still Illegal under Federal law to possess marijuana for medical purposes in states where recreational or medical cannabis use has not been approved.
Please remember that a medical marijuana license in New Mexico does not give you immunity from criminal punishment if you travel outside of New Mexico with medical cannabis.
Is Recreational Weed allowed in New Mexico
Recreational use of Marijuana in New Mexico is not allowed and you may be subject to a fine or criminal penalties if in violation of local laws.
New Mexico Medical Cannabis Application Forms
MCP useful links
NM Medical Cannabis Program Contact Information
Medical Cannabis Program
1474 Rodeo Rd., Suite 200
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Department of Health
Medical Cannabis Program
PO Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM, 87502-6110