New Mexico Medical Marijuana
New Mexico Medical Cannabis Program
The New Mexico Medical Cannabis Program is a self-supported program created in 2007 under the “Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act.”
The New Mexico Medical Cannabis Program was created to help patients utilize medical cannabis as a treament solution for symptoms caused by dibilitating medical condtions.
Price of Medical Cannabis in New Mexico
Prices may vary based on the availability of cannabis producers in your area. Medical cannabis can cost as low as $9 and as high as $15 per gram of medical cannabis. Because of the high cost, some patients choose to grow their own medical cannabis (PPL) in lieu of buying from local dispensaries.
46,645 as of December 2017
Approved Medical Conditions
Chronic Pain, PTSD, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease) Anorexia,
Cachexia, Arthritis, Cancer, Spinal cord damage, Cervical Dystonia Crohn’s disease, Epilepsy, Glaucoma, Hepatitis C, HIV/AIDS, Ulcerative Colitis Hospice patients, Huntington’s disease, Intractable nausea/vomiting Multiple sclerosis, Painful peripheral neuropathy, Parkinson’s disease
The program allows patients to do the following:
1. Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card under the NM Medical Cannabis Program.
2. A Patient can apply for a Personal Production License (PPL). A personal production license will allow you to grow your own medical cannabis for personal use in your home.
Patients can designate a caregiver for the NM Medical Cannabis Program.
A primary caregiver is designated by patient’s practitioner as necessary to take responsibility for managing the well-being of a qualified patient with respect to the medical use of cannabis. Primary caregiver must be a resident of New Mexico. The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older. Caregiver must submit a national background check.
Protections from Criminal and Civil Penalties
An enrolled patient or caregiver shall be protected from arrest, prosecution, or penalties for the use or possession of medical cannabis as long as the amount of cannabis does not exceed what’s specified on your medical cannabis card. The amount allowed is 230 grams in New Mexico over a 90 day period.
Restrictions and Limitations
1. You are liable for damages and/or criminal prosecution if you are under the influence of cannabis while driving a vehicle.
2. You cannot possess or use cannabis in a school bus or public vehicle
3. You cannot posesss or use cannabis on or near school grounds
4. You cannot possess or use cannabis in any workplace setting
5. You cannot possess or use cannabis in any public place such as parks, recreational centers or youth centers
New Mexico Medical Cannabis Application Forms
MCP useful links
NM Medical Cannabis Program Contact Information
Medical Cannabis Program
1474 Rodeo Rd., Suite 200
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Department of Health
Medical Cannabis Program
PO Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM, 87502-6110